Classmates.com Phishing

We’ve all seen endless phishing e-mails for banking sites and PayPal. Those all make sense to me, since they’ll give the bad guys access to your bank and credit card information.

But today I got a phishing message evidently trying to get classmates.com login information. How weird is that? What are they going to do, steal my identity by sending messages to all my high school friends saying that I’ve moved to Nigeria or China or wherever they’re from?

Here’s the message, in case anyone’s interested:

Received: from 201-255-99-86.mrse.com.ar ([201.255.99.86])
by mx.google.com
Received-SPF: softfail (google.com: domain of transitioning reunion@classmates.com does not designate 201.255.99.86 as permitted sender) client-ip=201.255.99.86;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=softfail (google.com: domain of transitioning reunion@classmates.com does not designate 201.255.99.86 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=reunion@classmates.com
From: “Classmates member”
Subject: Do not miss the Classmates reunion

You’re Invited to Classmates’ Day!
Celebrate This Day Together; meet your classmates.
Join us for the Classmates’ Day Luncheon in honor of this special happening.
Meet classmates and friends. We hope you can come to our party this day!
Please, take a tour to see the video invitation we provide.

CONTINUE>> for more information

We look forward to seeing you there!

Copyright 1995-2008 Classmates Online, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

The “CONTINUE” link points to fdhgrr.com, which doesn’t sound much like classmates.com. Imagine that. And the SPF check failed as well. Who’d have guessed.

I’m not really interested in going to their stupidly named domain to see what they’re trying to do. Maybe there’s a place to put in your credit card information to sign up for “Classmates’ Day.” Maybe they just want to send love notes to all the girls you had crushes on in high school. Maybe they’re just clueless spammers who don’t know what they’re doing.


About this entry